London (change)
Today °C / °C
Tomorrow °C / °C
6 messages
22/04/2013 at 11:25

Hi All

This is my first year as a homeowner and we have 2 fairly large gardens to fill with plants.  I was lucky to make the most of a Thompson & Morgan pricing error and get lots of packs of seeds for not much money at all and I have lots of different varieties of fruit, plants, grasses, flowers and veg growing in pots, propagators and our greenhouse.

A lot of the seeds are now starting to poke through the soil but I have a question, it may sound a bit silly and I am not sure how to word it but I do need some advice please so here we go...  I must have 20 different flower varieties, 5 different veg, 4 different fruit and half a dozen different grass varieties planted and growing, is there a general rule of thumb for what to do with seedlings once they reach a certain height or will this differ dramatically from plant to plant?  There were some instructions on the seed packets but not for how to re-pot once seedlings have grown.  

To give you an idea of what I have growing:

Aquilegia chrysantha 'Yellow Star' - yellow 

Cephalaphora aromatica 

Cerastium tomentosum - white 

Commelina dianthifolia - blue 

Cineraria 'Jester Scarlet' - red 

Calceolaria 'Sunset Mixed' - mixed 

Layia platygossa 'Tidy Tips' - yellow 

Saponaria ocymoides - pink 

Pansy 'Singing the Blues' - mixed 

Dahlia coccinea 'Species Mixed' - mixed 

Lavender 'Hidcote' - purple 

Panicum virgatum - green 

Liatris scariosa 'Gracious' - white 

estuca glauca - green 

Marigold 'La Bamba' - orange 

see)