Start a new thread

81 to 100 of 100 replies

I've been buying from Thompson and Morgan over 10 years. One thing is that I think they everything is completely overpriced. I always use Clubcard Boost with my Tesco Clubcard vouchers. Even when getting cashback with Quidco, using a promotional code etc etc when my plants arrive I always feel its poor value for money.

The main issue with me is the mini plugs. I have always had a lot of success with the plugs eg the fuschias which I potted on for 2 months which are now in the hanging baskets. I also have loads of beautiful Lilly Trees grew from bulbs from T&M. Roses from bareroots too. However, the mini plugs are a completely different story. Mine usually look healthy when they arrive but around 25% die some within a 1-2 days.

Thompson & Morgan entice you in with these mini plugs collections with photos of beautiful flowers. I bought the Perennial 'Best Value' collection and the Gardeners' World Cottage Garden Perennials offer which arrived a few days ago.

I emailed T&M 2 weeks ago about replacements for the Perennial 'Best Value' and have not heard anything. Some of the Cottage Garden Perennials have died or are wilting.

I will probably still buy from T&M in future but will not ever buy mini-plugs.


Why on earth do you buy from a company that supplies poor quality products.  There are other suppliers out there.

I notice that this is the first post you have ever made on the forum.

Bulbs and seeds are fine from T & M.  But just dont buy plants

I ordered six Anemone Wild Swan from them, terrible plugs arrived but I did my best to save them and get them to grow on, but in the end they died the next season!

Had a moan on here, they did respond to say send the order number etc and they would look into it for me!

But I had lost all the details by then so had to pass up their offer!

So always keep the packaging or order numbers safe, just in case

As a treat I took my wife out yesterday naturally to visit garden centres, well where else, one was offering a lifetime guarantee on their perennial plants another one, 10 years, the only proviso was, keep your receipt! !

That is confidence that the plants will grow on on their part!

Yep, I know who you mean JIMMY.  I have taken back plants after a couple of years if they die or look sickly.  Yes, always keep those receipts



Thats why I like buying online ....easier to find the order details than a paper receipt


Should have mentioned, I only bought 2 Physocarpus shrubs,2 David Austin roses and 2 Acers thank goodness my garden has elastic sides!

The 2 physocarpus shrubs cost only £12.99 each, Lady in Red and Diablo, they were smashing plants for the money, unlike the Wild swan and Rozanne plugs from T&M which when I bought them were advertised at £9.99 per plug!

Like I said the Wild Swan kicked the bucket but the Rozanne eventually grew into fine plants!

The joys of gardening!


I bought T&M Eryngium (Sea Holly) & Osteospermum seeds in March. None of them germinated , despite my Johnsons Ageratums germinating in the same room, and the Unwins Sweet Peas, and the Suttons Sunflowers now all thriving plants.

I waited patiently, carefully monitoring, watering, checking temperature (constant 18°C in my kitchen). It is obvious to me from the myriad complaints about T&M that they are guilty of sharp practice - others on this forum noted that there are no production dates on their seed packets !! Why not ? In order to ensure selling all their out-of date unviable seed stock.

I think it's a con and in breach of the Sale of Goods Act 1979 which states that goods must be fit for purpose and of satisfactory quality. They should clearly state the age of their seeds, as do other seed companies.

T&M have offered me replacement seeds or a voucher (not received yet), but really I think they'd benefit from a review of their unscrupulous marketing. Having wasted 2 months tending for their duff seeds I am considering reporting them to trading standards.


Jon - the seed packets should all have a 'use by' date. I don't trust anyone who sells seeds without that.


At our gardening club we use Suttons to buy seeds etc in bulk at a good discount,year before last someone proposed that we use T&M instead, a few of the old ladies "exploded" and said " their seeds never germinate" so that was that as far as T&M were concerned!

Me I have now learned my lesson, I would buy nothing from them at any price, they are the pits!

I was looking for a comments section on the T&M website (it turns out they only allow 'praise me' type comments!) and I found this, so I thought I'd add to the T&M ranting!

I've had several seeds off them, and can't complain about those.  However, some plug plants I ordered spent 6 days in the post and turned up battered.  The delivery company was blamed for that (which didn't explain the missing leaves etc, which should have still been in the packet if they'd come off in transit).  

Today I received 3 blueberry bushes in 3 ltr tubs... They were packed in a box designed for small trees (long and thin) and of the 3 tubs, one was sitting on top of another (as in ON the plant), while the third was upside down on top of them.  Needless to say, the plants (what is left of them) are in a very sorry state!  They did offer to replace them, but they couldn't guarantee them before the end of June (I'd already been waiting a while) so I'm getting a refund. Needless to say though, I won't be ordering anything else from them again, if that's the quality of their packing department!

It's a wonder why anyone buys from them with so many complaints!

plant pauper

I agree Redwing. I had the same nonsense with Parker. I'm surprised they're still in business. I got eighty odd pounds worth of mush delivered to three (that I know of) different addresses!


What people post about some of these companies must be "very" true, or else they would be suing the posters, or worse getting the posts removed from this site !

Ps,  They could always threaten, "We will not advertise in your Magazine again"!

Another who has had bad customer service from Thompson & Morgan.  I ordered 3 lots of bedding plants, one pot plant, seeds and perennials, 1st may all of which were to be delivered by end may except one end of June.  No communication, not able to check order online as wasnt visible, 2 emails unanswered, long waits on customer services number. Eventually got through to discover only seeds were going to be delivered by end of may (they should have been sent straight away).  Rest were out of stock and only delivered july or August which is pretty pointless for summer bedding / tender perennial.

no apology, no offer of alternative that was in stock, just "we can cancel your order and you can reorder from website" - now will have to pay more to get similar as later in season and less growing time for seeds.  Was even told I had left it too late to order even though their website said it was in stock.  Not to mention that the seeds had at last been sent despite the order page now saying they were out of stock. Hoped they might be able to sort something out for me, but given their response have to say that I will never order again.  Better service from eBay sellers to be honest, and you can check their feedback (unlike T&M where this seemed best place to leave feedback).

on plus side will now have a browse around this forum! (Rant over).  Can recommend longacre nurseries,  always had fabulous service.


Thanks PP, will head over to that thread.

Hello everyone,

I'm copying my post from the other thread Plant Pauper kindly guided katherinclyde to.

Naturally, the same offer stands here. If there are any outstanding issues, I'll do whatever I can to help you (after all, I too am a consumer - I know how frustrating the process can be at times) - here's the original post I wrote:

Good morning everyone,

Richard here from the Customer Care Team at Thompson & Morgan.

If there are any outstanding issues that need attending to, I'll be more than happy to help.

You're very welcome to call the Customer Care Hotline on 0333 400 0033 - if you would like to ask for me, I'll be happy to personally take care of you. I work both weekend days from 9am - 6pm.

Alternatively, you may respond to this post with an order reference number e.g. T12345678 or W1234567 or an email reference number that we will have sent to you in response to any emails you may have sent us. The email reference number will look something like this: TM1234567X.

(As soon as I have these details I will look into your account for you).

Alternatively, you may private message me (at the weekends) via our T&M Facebook page, which can be found here:

I will look forward to hearing from you!

Best regards,


In addition to me offering my personal help, we have a dedicated Customer Care Social Media team here (which I'm part of) who's responsibility it is to ensure we respond in a timely manner to your queries posted on forums such as these.

The Social Media team work seven days per week, so in theory, the longest you should have to wait for a response is approximately 24 hrs.

Genuinely, we're here to help - please talk to us. Please let us know where we're failing, where we're letting you down, where we're not meeting up to our promises - it's the fastest way for us to serve you better.

My best,


I am so pleased I found this site as I thought it was only me that was disappointed with Thompson and Morgan. I often send for plug plants, and a few years ago ordered some plants, all supposed to be a different colour. When it was time for them to flower they were all white. I grow my plants from seed and have always purchased them from T&M. Recently in a garden centre, I looked at other growers seeds and found that there were more in the packet and they did not cost me as much. 

Hi Elaine,

Thank you very much for your post.

I'm very sorry that your plug plants turned out to be all white rather than a mix of colours. This was probably due to a collation error when the plants were chosen in the nursery. Did we replace your plugs or offer a full refund? This would have been our standard response to a problem such as yours and I hope that you contacted us about it.

If you would like to respond to this post with an order reference number e.g. T12345678 or W1234567 or an email reference number that we will have sent to you in response to any emails you have sent us then I will look at your account for you and respond to your query directly. (The email reference number will look something like this: TM1234567X.)

Alternatively, then please private message me via our T&M Facebook page:

Or call our Customer Care Hotline on 0333 400 0033 with the details of the problems you’ve experienced with our seeds and one of our agents will be more than happy to look into this further for you.

I do hope that you’ll give me the opportunity to help you further and try to resolve the issues you’ve experienced in the past.

Kind regards,


Sign up or log in to post a reply