Forum home Plants
This Forum will close on Wednesday 27 March, 2024. Please refer to the announcement on the Discussions page for further detail.

Tomato Plant

BILLYCBILLYC Posts: 70

I am growing a Alicante tomato plant indoors on a window ledge. The plant is about 2 feet high. At what height should I pinch out top of plant? Remember that it is growing indoors.  

• lazy gardenerlazy gardener Posts: 317

In a greenhouse when 4/6 trusses of fruit have set -indoors when you dont want it to grow any higher.

• BILLYCBILLYC Posts: 70

lazy gardener - Sorry I'm a complete novice. Don't understand `don't want to grow any higher`.Wont the plant continue to grow higher till I pinch out centre stem????

• BookertooBookertoo Posts: 1,306

Yes, that's what LG said, when it has nearly got as high as you want it to be, then pinch out the top shoot.  It will need to be a good bit taller than it is now if it is to have room to produce fruits.  Don't forget to nip out the little side shoots that appear in the axles of the main leaves too, you just want the main stems where the flowers are forming.  It needs feeding and watering regularly when the first set of tiny fruits has formed ( you will se reference to 'when the first truss has set'  - that  is what that means),  don't let it get dry, and keep the watering as steady as possible, rather then let it dry out then water - that is good or many plants but not tomatoes.  

• steephillsteephill Posts: 2,841

Alicante would normally be about 6 to 8 feet high before being pinched out. If you let it set 3 trusses of fruit then you may be able to stop it at about 4 feet high. The fruit will also ripen earlier as a bonus.

• Bob EliottBob Eliott Posts: 9

Billy C you say you are a novice well when the flowers are showing this is

called a truss,for a window you want 3-4 trusses then nip out top

• LuLu Posts: 7