London (change)
Today 18°C / 15°C
Tomorrow 20°C / 15°C
13 messages
23/10/2013 at 15:03

I am looking for expertise and experience...2 thngs I have not got...

We have the most beautiful Virginia Creeper (the colours at this time of year are truly amazing) growing up 2 sides of the house and we would like to propagate some more to grow in the space it has not crept into as yet.

How do I take cuttings?...Can I take them at this time of year?...

Thanking you in advance

23/10/2013 at 15:07

Are there berries on the plant?  I've heard that it is really easy to grow from seed.  However I am no expert on ornamental plants or their aesthetics.

23/10/2013 at 15:27

Crumbs that was a quick reply Farmergeddun...

No there are no berries...only squillions of leaves of the most amazing colours...it really is a lovely show at the moment..

23/10/2013 at 16:36

http://homeguides.sfgate.com/start-new-virginia-creeper-old-plant-34768.html

Have a look at this link. full instructions there.

23/10/2013 at 16:59

Thankyou Dave...Will put that on the job list for tomorrow...

23/10/2013 at 17:02
511 wrote (see)

We have the most beautiful Virginia Creeper (the colours at this time of year are truly amazing) growing up 2 sides of the house and we would like to propagate some more to grow in the space it has not crept into as yet.

Thanking you in advance

This will be of no use to  you, Carmic...but I would just like to say I agree with what you say.

This is a delightful little cottage near me and it looks beautiful at this time of year.

http://i27.photobucket.com/albums/c186/DavidKnapper/PA030001.jpg

23/10/2013 at 17:08

Can you help me on this? How you save your plants for pests around this, because i find these pests really bad for my plants they ruined all my work i jsut want to get rid of them. 

23/10/2013 at 17:12
David K wrote (see)
511 wrote (see)

Thanking you in advance

This will be of no use to  you, Carmic...but I would just like to say I agree with what you say.