Forum home Plants
This Forum will close on Wednesday 27 March, 2024. Please refer to the announcement on the Discussions page for further detail.

What sells well at charity plant sales?

I wanted to grow some plants to donate to charity plant sales for fundraising.

I've never bought a plant as I grow everything from seed, so not really up on what is donated to charity plant sales and what is popular.It's for a botanic garden so the customers are quite knowledgeable so one couldn't grow any old rubbish.

Any suggestions please?

• Peanuts3Peanuts3 Posts: 759

I'm a complete novice, but I grow cosmos from seed, treat it oh so badly but always amazed at how well it grows and flowers.  That would have to be popular surely, unless its too easy image

• nutcutletnutcutlet Posts: 27,445

Hi Frank, for knowledgeable customers, anything they won't find in the nearest GC.

If you're a seed grower look at Chiltern seeds, Plant World Seeds and Special Plants (Derry Watkins), There are others and someone else may provide the names but these are the ones I've tried and found successful.

Otherwise, for charity plant sales generally, anything that's in flower at time of sale. or bedding plants

In the sticks near Peterborough
  • WelshonionWelshonion Posts: 3,114
    Tomato plants, courgette plants. Lettuce strips. Bean plants.

Ignore the fact it's in a Botanic garden. They don't have to be 'high end' plants.

If you are selling rarities, take along an encyclopaedia too.
  • Tropical SamTropical Sam Posts: 1,488

Ask to take or be given some cuttings from the garden to grow and sell on. Unusual plants will command more money. People like fillers, so anything small sells well or has something going for it - Crassula/Money tree for good luck, Sweetpea for perfume and the like.