Forum home Plants
This Forum will close on Wednesday 27 March, 2024. Please refer to the announcement on the Discussions page for further detail.

What to plant under a tree?

RowieRowie Posts: 8

Morning all,

I'm completely new to gardening (and this site, so hello! image), and am looking for ideas of what to plant under a large sycamore tree.

The garden itself is south facing, the tree is at the back of the garden, so the area tends to get sun early in the morning then shaded for the rest of the day in the summer.

What would you recommend?

Many thanks,

Rowie x

• ObelixxObelixx Posts: 30,068

I have just underplanted some trees in my garden with a mix of geranium phaeum and saxifrage London Pride.

The geranium will spread happily and has purple blotches on its foliage and small purple flowers in spring which are attractive to bees and hoverflies.   There is also a version with white flowers.   Geranium dalmaticum has evergreen foliage and clear pale pink flowers.  Geranium macrorhizum has scented foliage which goes red in winter and flowers can be white, pink or deep purpley pink.

The saxifrage will also spread but give a low mat of foliage in glossy rosettes with thin spikes of small fluffy flowers later in the season - if all goes to plan.

Vendée - 20kms from Atlantic coast.
    "The price good men (and women) pay for indifference to public affairs is to be ruled by evil men (and women)."
    Plato
  • RowieRowie Posts: 8

Hello Pansyface, 

I was thinking something small, perhaps evergreen, for interest all round. I have what I think is an Azelea currently under the tree, that does really well, and produces beautiful orange flowers in the spring.

There is a spot next to this, nearer the tree that I would like to put something to fill that gap,( currently just soil.) Happy to have something low growing that spreads, to fill the gaps around that area.

As for looking after it... I'm very new to this, so would need something that if I did