London (change)
Today 11°C / 5°C
Tomorrow 8°C / 4°C
8 messages
08/10/2012 at 20:46

Although I have been gardening for many years, I am only now, about to buy my first greenhouse.  The choice is bewildering!  Should it be wood or metal, set on bricks or the ground.  I will mainly use it for cuttings and overwintering and growing salad crops.  Are there any pitfalls I should try and avoid please?  I am so excited about this project...

08/10/2012 at 20:58

It depends on your budget as prices can differ greatly. For potting, overwintering and cuttings one set on bricks with lots of staging would be good, but they are expensive. For growing tomatoes and salad crops one with clear sides to the ground is good and is usually cheaper.

I have a polycarbonate one as I have stony ground (limestone) with a paddock next door with horses. I thought it would be tougher with stones being kicked about! In early spring I grow a lot of bedding plants from seeds and plugs which I put on temporary staging using trestles and planks. I have a potting bench and some permanent shelves as well. Then I remove the temporary shelves and and plant tomatoes down that side. It's lovely to be out gardening when it's raining!

09/10/2012 at 16:36

Thanks for the advice.  I am leaning towards the 'on bricks' although it will depend a bit on the budget.  It will be great to do things even if it is raining outside.  I am planning to make it very comfortable! soft music, candles and all terracotta pots.  I don't think I will go for the salad crops as it's only a small garden

11/10/2012 at 19:59

I have had a cheap plastic covered frame for the last two years.It was ideal for a beginner but I cannot find a replacement cover and the old one is now full of holes. I intend to replace it with a polycarbon one and the old frame wil lmake good staging for it.

12/10/2012 at 15:05