Forum home Problem solving
This Forum will close on Wednesday 27 March, 2024. Please refer to the announcement on the Discussions page for further detail.

A very fast growing climber to cover cherry tree by this summer

Hi,

My lovely cherry blossom tree is almost bare due to leaf spot and I would like to cover the bare tree for this summer with a very fast growing climber. Desperate enough to consider Russian Vine. I am looking for some very quick cover and happy to dig out/cut down remove it within a year if my tree recovers.

Most of the plants I have considered such as clematis say they are fast growers but not sure if they are fast enough for cover in a couple of months.

Thanks in advance.

ps: I am a novice gardner.

• DovefromaboveDovefromabove Posts: 88,139

It won't recover if you grow creepers up it - it needs every chance it's got to access fresh air and sunshine, as well as nutrients from the soil.

If it's a bit of an eyesore I'd plant something eye-catching nearby as a distraction.  

Have you  had the leaf-spot diagnosed?  Are you sure what's causing it?

Gardening in Central Norfolk on improved gritty moraine over chalk ... free-draining.

• 95% sure it is leaf spot. Spreading upwards and the leaves are droping off. Round spots and then turning brown before falling off. The warm and wet winter has helped with the spread. I am hoping that it is robust enough (being nearly 9 years old) to recover.

The tree is the focal point in my little garden and with no leaves visible at all I wanted something to cloak it.

• DovefromaboveDovefromabove Posts: 88,139

I'd try spraying with Bordeaux Mixture, and giving the area around the tree a feed with Fish Blood and Bone - according to the pack directions - with any luck your tree might grow some more leaves. 

Good luck image

Gardening in Central Norfolk on improved gritty moraine over chalk ... free-draining.

• MrsGardenMrsGarden Posts: 3,951

Good luck with the tree.