London (change)
Today °C / °C
Tomorrow °C / °C
20 messages
27/05/2014 at 17:20

I've had my allotment for a couple of weeks now, and it's been a constant battle trying to source the equipment needed for such a big challenge, so here's a few things I've found has helped me keep the cost down thus far.

I'm new to gardening, let alone owning an allotment, and was anticipating many long months of waiting before getting my mitts on one, but 6 weeks later, I had a massive patch of brambles to call my own. I didn't own a spade, a fork, anything. So I had to source it all myself! Here are what I have found cheaply and where!

Fork, Spades, Soil Rakes, are all £5 in asda, they are strong and relatively sturdy, and the cheapest I've seen them brand new. Homebase's value range is twice the price, and less sturdy, but are worth looking into when they have their 15% off days as I got my OH's fork for around £8 and it is heavier and a little larger than my ASDA equivalent.

Compost, Topsoil, Manure: This week I got over 200L of the stuff for £14 rather than the £30+ it should have been. How? This time of the month is when things like stock takes happen, and any damaged stock gets reduced for quick sale, in this case any bags that had tears in them, got reduced to half price. I'd have bought more because there were bags upon bags, but my car's size limited me. If you're a penny counter like myself, I never bothered looking at the compost section before at Homebase who I find pricey anyway, but I certainly got lucky, and will always take a wee peek in future! (I also got a sorry looking chili plant that day for £2 down from £7, and it's starting to thrive now!)