London (change)
Today °C / °C
Tomorrow °C / °C
1 to 20 of 31 messages
12/08/2012 at 20:56

I have an ash tree stump at the top of my garden and I'm wondering how to get rid of it as I want to plant something else in the area.

I've tried pulling the leaves off about 10 times but they just keep coming back.

Ive bashed it and exposed the roots

Does anyone have any other ideas or anything that has worked for them to get rid of it?

Many Thanks, Matt

12/08/2012 at 22:21

Hello, If you want the  stump completely gone you will have to dig it and prize it out.

I am no expert on this but there is obviously some life left in the Ash tree stump if leaves keep coming back. How deep you will have to deep depends on how big and mature the Ash was.

12/08/2012 at 22:39

I've lived in this house for 18 years now and never remember a tree being where it is. I've heard they are pretty hard to kill :/

13/08/2012 at 01:04

You can get someone in with a stump-grinder. 

13/08/2012 at 07:11

How big is it?  What's the circumferance of the trunk about 18 inches from the surface of the surrounding soil?

If it's a relatively young sapling (and you say that you've not noticed it there before so it can't be that big) it shouldn't be too difficult to dig it out properly.  Bashing it won't do any good - just dig a circle all around it to about two spade depths then work inwards (still at two spades' depth), eventually you'll get to the centre  and you should be able to dig underneath it, sawing through any large roots.  

13/08/2012 at 10:08

Here are some pics. I measured it 24inches in diameter around the stump. Do you think I could dig that out, its in such an awkward place

http://i20.photobucket.com/albums/b239/mattbeer87/DSCF5363.jpg

http://i20.photobucket.com/albums/b239/mattbeer87/DSCF5364.jpg

13/08/2012 at 10:21