London (change)
Today 9°C / 5°C
Tomorrow 10°C / 9°C
1 to 20 of 21 messages
06/07/2012 at 13:21

hi

i'm quite new to growing fruit and veg and continue to be baffled by the things that happen in my veg patch!

i've had some great advice from this forum which has helped me no end. so i've come back to ask some more questions which i've been unable to solve.

so somethings going on with my strawberries. it's only happening to about half of them but i can't work out if it's a pest or rain damage.piccys attached. they look diferent when first picked to when they've dried a little so i've taken piccys at both stages.

i've also managed to grow a mystery plany from seed but now it's bigger i suspect it's just a big weed! before i got rid of it i wanted to double check though. i've grown lots of things from seed and this just seems completely different. pic attached.

any help would be greatly appreciated.

thanks

Mizz

p.s. if anyone has read my past threads, the parsnips that appeared in our lawn are doing really well, the leaves on some are 6ft tall! they've now got yellow flowers on.

06/07/2012 at 13:25

http://s3.gardenersworld.com/uploads/images/original/9618.jpg?width=300&height=350&mode=max

http://s3.gardenersworld.com/uploads/images/original/9619.jpg?width=300&height=350&mode=max

http://s3.gardenersworld.com/uploads/images/original/9620.jpg?width=300&height=350&mode=max

http://s3.gardenersworld.com/uploads/images/original/9621.jpg?width=300&height=350&mode=max

http://s3.gardenersworld.com/uploads/images/original/9622.jpg?width=300&height=350&mode=max

06/07/2012 at 13:34

That looks like typical slug damage on the strawberries.

06/07/2012 at 13:35

not sure but it looks like some sort of lettuce, could you ask at a  nursery at all ?

06/07/2012 at 13:38

thanks both for your quick replies.

pesky slugs. great to know what it is though. been trying to buy some organic pellets for ages but everywhere sold out. could i use salt?