London (change)
Today 20°C / 15°C
Tomorrow 20°C / 13°C
8 messages
15/05/2013 at 21:39

Hi all,

I am very new to gardening as we lived in a flat before. We have moved into a house which the garden needs some tlc when we moved in the bamboo was about 8-10 foot tall I have cut it down to about 2 foot now in preparation to get rid of it but after a lot of researching I have worked out that it is a nightmare to get rid of it! Does anyone have any good ideas on the best way to get it gone. 

Thanks

15/05/2013 at 22:03

The most effective method of removal of bamboo is to dig out the entire root and rhizome mass as thoroughly as possible, including fragments. To make the job easier, water the area deeply a few days before digging. Start on the outside of the clump or grove and work your way inward. The roots generally do not grow deeper than 6-18 inches and you usually can chop them into chunks and pull them out piece by piece. 

Sounds like a big job so get those sleeves rolled up and good luck! Ant 

15/05/2013 at 22:11

Thanks Ant!

its a mammoth task and was looking for a easy way but I seem to be coming across the dig it out option quite a lot looks like a job for this weekend! I'm glad the roots don't go too far deep although it does seem to be spreading around the garden a bit! I think the garden may take a bit of battering in the process too! Fingers crossed  

Im going to dig and hope

16/05/2013 at 05:59

17/05/2013 at 11:51

I dug out some bamboo last year and it was an absolute killer. I ended up breaking my spade in half. The only way I could do it was to buy something which I think is commonly known as a 'Fencer's Grafter'. It is like a long handled all metal spade with a narrow head. It is the thing that contractors use when digging holes for fence posts.