Forum home Problem solving
This Forum will close on Wednesday 27 March, 2024. Please refer to the announcement on the Discussions page for further detail.

Begonia Corms

Despite my advance years I am a novice gardener.  I am advised to lift my begonias, wait for the foliage to die, remove the excess earth, sprinkle with BULB DUST, wrap individually and store in a cool dry place until next spring.

What is BULB DUST?  Google searches have not been much help and staring at shelves in garden centres has been equally unrewarding.

Any help or advice would be much appreciated. 

• nutcutletnutcutlet Posts: 27,445

I should imagine bulb dust is an anti fungal powder. 

In the sticks near Peterborough
  • Thanks nutcullet.  So I should have found it in the garden centre?

• sotongeoffsotongeoff Posts: 9,802

Isn't it flowers of sulphur?image-this is just from memory-can't say I have ever bothered.

• nutcutletnutcutlet Posts: 27,445

You'll find some anti fungal something for storing tubers etc. I've never used it but I don't grow anything I'd have to lift for winter.

http://www.bonide.com/lbonide/backlabels/l981.pdf

This is the only reference that came up when I did a search so I wouldn't think it's much used.

In the sticks near Peterborough
  • So what do you do then Ernie (why do I have a mental picture of Benny Hill?)?

Halloween nameimage

I would just dry them off as you have been doing and store -dry peat -newspaper-as long as they don't get damp-cool,dry, and frost free

Watch out for the dreaded weevil grubimage

• Is that the horrible red thing which tries to kill my lilies?

I'm tempted to add a mothball to the box where they are going to be stored.

Do I have to check them through this dormant period?

Thanks so much both of you. 

That is lily beetle

Vine weevil grubs-small creamy things with brown heads -often found in containers-they eat roots and have a tendency to burrow into begonia corms