London (change)
Today 15°C / 9°C
Tomorrow 14°C / 9°C
8 messages
19/02/2013 at 16:30

Hi, could anyone please tell me what is wrong with my red robin bush. the green leaves all have this black spot on them.I have had the bush for two and a half years and this is the first time that this has happened. I am a novice Gardener and dont really know much about problem solving. It still producing new growth. I would be grateful for any info on the problem.

http://s4.gardenersworld.com/uploads/images/original/18784.jpg?width=274&height=350&mode=max

19/02/2013 at 17:32

What area of your garden you grow this bush? Full sun, in shadow, what plants around the photinia? Normaly the spots come from some fungis. Remove the sick  leaves when the plant is dry. Leaves that collect around the base of your ph. should be raked up and disposed of. Avoid overhead irrigation if possible; water should be directed at soil surface. For fungal leaf spots, use a organic fungicide (maybe Neem Oil). Best luck, ThaiGer,

19/02/2013 at 17:44

Hi thanks for the advice much apprecieted. Its growing in the middle of my lawn, so its mostly in full sun. and i have planted spring bulbs around it. regards E

lizabeth.

19/02/2013 at 18:23

Think that you can nothing do against the desease-it's the reaction of a cold,wet Winter. This shrub like full or half sun and need a good drain and mineral fertilizer. Because of this fact is a good idea to grow plants around, which help to give some elements: ornamental and herb plants like miscanthus sinensis zebrinus (zebra grass) and lupins, phlox scabious,geums. Have a good evening, ThaiGer.

19/02/2013 at 18:53