Forum home Problem solving
This Forum will close on Wednesday 27 March, 2024. Please refer to the announcement on the Discussions page for further detail.

canna lily

I recently dug up my Canna lillies from their pots with a view to overwintering. As a novice I am slightly confused with what I saw. The bulbs? seemed to have the roots and the stems coming out of the same side leaving the opposite side looking smooth like a potato. Is this normal and is their a way to know top from bottom when replanting next yearimage

• VishuVishu Posts: 191

Yes, it's normal with canna........

Don't worry much about how to place them..... Just place them horizontally..... The long side should be parallel to the ground.

Btw, how do you store them?? I have always wondered since in my area, they are perennials.☺

• I was given them last year as established plants in pots so This is my first winter. I just assumed they should be lifted and overwintered indoors so I have dried them out and wrapped them individually in newspaper and put them in a shoe box in the garage until next spring. I was hoping to split the large clumps to gain more bulbs but the first one I tried seemed to snap off so I have left them as I dug them. Maybe all you out there may tell me that it is not necessary to lift but where I live in West Yorkshire the temperatures can get a bit Arctic.

willinglearner says:

I was given them last year as established plants in pots so This is my first winter. I just assumed they should be lifted and overwintered indoors so I have dried them out and wrapped them individually in newspaper and put them in a shoe box in the garage until next spring. I was hoping to split the large clumps to gain more bulbs but the first one I tried seemed to snap off so I have left them as I dug them. Maybe all you out there may tell me that it is not necessary to lift but where I live in West Yorkshire the temperatures can get a bit Arctic.

See original post