London (change)
Today 18°C / 15°C
Tomorrow 20°C / 15°C
11 messages
11/10/2013 at 13:10

I'm fairly new to gardening, and when we moved into our new house in June I made a huge mistake and planted Kale... and although I tried to keep on top of the caterpillars I lost the battle and pulled the whole lot out. Now the caterpillars that I missed have been chomping their way through all my border plants.... I just don't know what to do.

My question is, will they come back again next year - will there still be the scent of kale in my garden? Help!

11/10/2013 at 13:14

What border plants are they eating?  It would be unusual for the same type of caterpillars to be eating them. 

11/10/2013 at 13:29

There are 3 different types of caterpillars 

Honeysuckle, hardy geraniums/johnsons blue and some other more established plants that I don't know the name of sorry - I am a real novice!

Have you experienced a lot of caterpillars this year?

11/10/2013 at 13:43

Only a few on Sweet Rocket plants, which are related to brassicas so I expect the Cabbage Whites to get them every year - I keep my eyes open and pick the little beggars off and squidge them.  They're  the only caterpillars I squidge as I know there are plenty of Cabbage White butterflies about.  Others are becoming scarce.  

I've not had a problem with caterpillars on hardy geraniums this year but I know some others have this year.  I've never had a problem with caterpillars on honeysuckle and only know of one which eats them http://ukmoths.org.uk/show.php?bf=453 and have never heard of them causing real damage.  

Anyway, the fact you had kale in your garden will have no effect on the attractiveness or otherwise of your border plants to any butterflies and moths so that's not a problem.

Unless your plants are becoming totally decimated I really wouldn't worry - it's good that you're providing food plants for the caterpillars - we need butterflies and moths to pollinate our fruit,  flowers and vegetables.