London (change)
Today 22°C / 16°C
Tomorrow 22°C / 15°C
20 messages
17/07/2014 at 08:07

Hi everyone, I'm new here but I need some help! I have a semi circle of grass alongside our house that we are trying to screen off and extend our small back garden. I attempted planning permission for a 6ft fence but the paperwork was rather difficult so I am thinking hedge instead since that doesn't need permission (the garden is along a shared driveway). I am in a cul-de-sac, and the garden is popular with local kids and a neighbour's dog uses it for a toilet (killing all of our plants).

I need to completely seal if off with hedge (there will be access through a wall), but I'm a bit worried about affecting foundations, since the hedge will be built up to the house. I have been recommended a Western Red Cedar hedge as one that will grow fairly quickly and is resistant to dog urine.

Is it safe to plant close to my house? (I'm new to all this)

Or would anyone recommend anything different?

Thanks in advance!

17/07/2014 at 08:13

I think the person who recommended Western Red Cedar (Thuja plicata) must have been joking. The grow to over 60 matres (200feet) tall. 

Do you have the space? 

17/07/2014 at 08:36

yew is good, but grows slow and is poisonous (not good with kids about)

Lonicera (box leaved honeysuckle) is good, grows quick and forms a dense hedge and you can get it in green, gold, variegated and lots more I think? so you can mix it up in the hedge and it wont be a monochrome green

17/07/2014 at 08:42

Hi Chris

There is a web site called hedges direct, they have a wide range of hedging that you can choose from

17/07/2014 at 09:09

Hi everyone! thanks for the replies

hedges direct are the ones that actually recommended the Western Red Cedar!
but I thought it might be good to get a second opinion

as i said, my worry is whether my hedges could affect the foundations of the house - I'm not sure how far away I can plant (or what I should plant)......