London (change)
Today 13°C / 9°C
Tomorrow 11°C / 5°C
14 messages
05/05/2013 at 06:59

I moved into my house just over 12 months ago. It has a decent sized garden and this year I want to do a bit more than just mow the lawn!  The main issue I'm having is the losing battle I am fighting with the weeds. So here's a run down of what I'm dealing with:

dandelions in the lawn and the paving

bindweed in the hedge

some kind of creeping weed with long green leaves in the lawn

horsetail in the lawn and the paving

Any suggestions that don't involve ripping the whole garden up and starting again would be great. As mentioned I am a complete novice at gardening and I have a young child so napalm is out!

05/05/2013 at 10:13

For dandelions in the lawn either you dig them out or you use a selective lawn weedkiller which kills weeds, not grass. But keep your little one off it until it's been rained on. For the paving glyphosate weed killer is best. It takes a little time before you see it work though as it has to be taken down through the leaves into the roots. It doesn't affect the soil, only the leaves it has touched. When it's dry on the leaves I think it's harmless to all but the plant.

Bindweed in the hedge is tricky. You will have to kepp pulling it out. Or try and tease it out and dab leaves with glyphosate.

Horsetail has long roots and the only way is to spray is with glyphosate. (No, I don't work for the company!) Most other weedkillers have been banned now so there isn't much other choice!

05/05/2013 at 10:34

Horsetail is very tricky and you may find it very hard to remove. Unfortunately I agree with Busy-Lizzie on that if you want to try and eradicate altogether - though I am not usually a round-up fan.

Have you got a weed wand to perhaps work on the weeds (if smallish) in paths and paving. It also saves your back!

05/05/2013 at 11:09