London (change)
Today 15°C / 11°C
Tomorrow 15°C / 12°C
12 messages
06/01/2014 at 20:56

Hi everyone.  I'm so excited to have found this forum.  I'm new to gardening since last Spring and have loved every minute of my new found hobby.  In my enthusiasm, I have stripped our medium sized garden and filled it with loads of lovely new plants and shrubs but I keep find other things that I must have.  Can I grow a Cornus alba Sibirica in a container?  How big a container should I get?

07/01/2014 at 12:18

Cornus alba grows quite wide, so would be best in the ground. But you could grow it in a large container for a year or two while you decide what to do with it. make sure you keep it watered, it hates drying out, and feed it from time to time.

I have a golden Philadelphus in a pot which I was told would never flower. It's now 4 years old and has flowered beautifully. So, nothing venture, nothing gain.

07/01/2014 at 12:50

Welcome Charlie

I agree with Busy......Cornus will not really like it in a pot and if it doesn't like it it will look poorly.

Choisya sundance is a lovely yellow leaved fragrant bush that would grow in a container.  If you wanted a red "stemmed" plant instead of a Cornus how about a red Phormium?  however, there is a variety of Cornus that may do well in a pot.....a red/orange stemmed one called Winter Fire.  It's a weaker growing sort that did not grow well for me in the ground so I resorted to plantIng it in a pot.  I used a John Innes compost and kept plant fairly moist.  

I can sense your enthusiasm Charlie.  I'm still a bit like that myself 

07/01/2014 at 15:18

I have  a alba growing very well in the ground and the yellow stem gives a 'lift' now. I also have cornu 'midwinter fire' in the ground opposite to the alba. The red, orange and yellow stems are a beauty and this appears to do well in the garden. The height of midwinter fire is abour 3'x3' in 10 yrs. so I think this could do well in a large pot.

07/01/2014 at 16:21