London (change)
Today 10°C / 10°C
Tomorrow 13°C / 11°C
1 to 20 of 48 messages
25/02/2014 at 14:33

I've started keeping my egg shells again to try and deter anything slimy from eating my plants!!  I was just wondering if anyone knows an easier way of cleaning them as it seems to take me forever, also does the 'skin' (there probably is a technical word but I can't remember it) inside the shell need to be removed as in the past I have been told different things?

Finally, I dry them and crush them and put them in a large storage jar until I need to use them, again I just want to check that is correct?

Thanks

25/02/2014 at 14:40

Had a look around and saw this. It might help or it might not. Dratted things.

http://www.allaboutslugs.com/eggshell-myth-busted/

25/02/2014 at 14:42

Tracey - I'm a newbie too. But I've been putting mine in a jam jar with some very weak bleachy water and giving them a woosh around before putting them in the bottom of the oven for 5 minutes or so after cooking a main meal til they are dry.

I then throw them in my kilner jar and hit them with the end of the rolling pin when they get too close to the edge of the jar (trying to avoid bashing them too much until I need them else the ones at the bottom will be just dust which while it'll provide calcium for the soil can't see it deterring a slug). 

It seems to be working so far!

25/02/2014 at 14:46

Thanks, an interesting article.  Answers my question about washing them  and removing the membrane (that was the word I couldn't think of!!). They do seem to have worked for me in the past but I was wondering if all the effort was worth it or just to get slug pellets??

I know people will say go out and pick them up, but I am really squeamish with slugs so that isn't an option

25/02/2014 at 14:48