14 messages
14/04/2014 at 21:35

http://apps.rhs.org.uk/advice/ACEImages/RHS_PUB0006720sapfungi_958204.JPG

Hello there! Newbie here, and am stumped!! Wondering if I could ask if anyone else has this Saprophytic fungi? It's identical to the image on the link above.

I'd just planted some peas a few weeks ago and found weird fungi growing right next to them. To be honest, I thought it was potato peel gone rotten at first glance. Removing them comes out clean, can't find roots and even tho I've dug out portions of earth surrounding and underneath them, I can't find roots. I've then been covering the ground I dug out with fresh compost out of a bag but they keep coming back within a few days. Persistent little blighters!  I don't want it to spread everywhere, or to lose my precious little pea plants (first year growing peas!) but have a feeling I may have to. Before I do, anyone here used anything or had something work? I was thinking about holding a flame to them, but am grasping at straws I fear. Precious little info as far as I can find online.

Please help this novice gardener! Pretty please? Grovel!

14/04/2014 at 23:16

Don't worry about it, just remove it if it gets in the way of your seedlings. It lives on decaying wood in the soil and doesn't have roots as such. It won't harm your plants.

15/04/2014 at 00:24

Thanks very much for your answer! Is it safe? It wasn't clear on RHS's website, but I think it said it was harmful to people and animals. I have a cat who loves the garden and wanted to make sure.

15/04/2014 at 10:50

Inedible; it would depend on which species you have as to whether it would be toxic at all. Don't eat it, the cat probably won't either! This type of fungus is very common, it might be a Peziza species, there are a lot that look like the picture. 

15/04/2014 at 11:46