Start a new thread

1 to 11 of 11 replies

phenix

I'm new here and I'm new at gardening. Ground elder was already present in the garden the day I've bought my house. Until now I've been able to keep it in the "wild" part of the garden. But I would like to make this small garden into a garden for wildlife with insect friendly plants and wildlife/ bird friendly places and a little pond for frogs and toads (who visit this garden every year). So I would also like to tackle the part where the ground elder lives.

Who ever I speak to they all say that once ground elder is in your garden it is there to stay until eternity. I was wondering if there is a way to get rid of it in nature/ wildlife friendly way?

Hostafan1

welcome phenix.

It all rather depends upon you definition of "nature / wildlife friendly" 

IMHO the only way to get rid of GE is Glyphosate. Short term pain, perhaps, long term gain.

BobTheGardener

The only really effective treatment is to spray with glyphosate when it is growing strongly and then wait for it to die back completely which ensures the roots are killed too.  A few new growths might reappear which you would again treat in the same way.

However, if you don't want to use any chemicals at all then there is a solution:  Dig as much out as you can and then pull up every new growth you see immediately.  It may take years but you will eventually beat it that way as no plant can survive without leaves to feed the roots.

Hostafan1

nice philosophy Tetley. I like it. x

I have quite a lot of ground elder in a wild area, which im not bothered about, but also just next to, and popping up in, my veg patch, which i am bothered about.

I have tried a few things, and reduced it, but it keeps coming back.  I have a new secret weapon though.  I am going to strangle it out with strawberry plants, which are just as invasive in my garden, but i like them.  Might take a while, but i think it might work.