London (change)
Today 20°C / 15°C
Tomorrow 16°C / 13°C
13 messages
28/08/2013 at 13:12

Hi, my name is Tim, and I have a problem. We bought our home with a well established garden. I have managed a lot of mowing, plenty of hedge trimming and a little pruning. We are complete novices in all things green and flowery, the iimmediate problem is this, we have a palm tree, with long spikey leaves. they fall and re grow, not a problem. But now the tree is dying, leaves are turning brown and drooping. The only thing I can see are 2 nail holes where a piece of wood was previously fixed. I am convinced this is the problem, but don't know what to do to save the tree.

Any help would be very much welcomed.

thnks in advance, tim.

28/08/2013 at 13:17

Where are you? Palm trees like it warm.

28/08/2013 at 13:46

http://s4.gardenersworld.com/uploads/images/original/30012.jpg?width=360&height=350&mode=max

We are in wexford, Ireland. The other thieving roving thriving.

28/08/2013 at 14:06

Sorry dont understand your journaling  : The other thieving roving thriving .

Explain Please - or am I missing something ?

28/08/2013 at 14:18

Predictive texting is a pain in the derriere.

28/08/2013 at 14:21

You could trim off the dead leaves. I think this is its normal habit. The green shoots look OK. I can't see the pieces of wood doing any harm.

28/08/2013 at 14:32

http://s4.gardenersworld.com/uploads/images/original/30031.jpg?width=360&height=350&mode=max

Sorry, I meant thriving. This is where the nails were.

28/08/2013 at 14:37

Unless it all goes dead at the tops, I would just trim the brown bits of leaves off and leave the green bits. Maybe it had a bad winter and is still suffering.

28/08/2013 at 18:24

Hjya tim 

Those nail.holes won't cause a problem.  Palms are corky and quite different to most trees, shrubs.  

They do naturally shed their bottom leaves and do so throughout the year.  Yours is simply getting taller.....looks green at the top