London (change)
Today 22°C / 16°C
Tomorrow 26°C / 16°C
15 messages
15/07/2013 at 18:31

Hi All,

First of all, I am a complete novice to grass and gardening. Moved into a new house and it had a fair amount of daisies and weeds, so I brought evergreen 4 in 1 and applied it to front and back garden.

Unfortuanetly I think I have applied too much, so I applied it Tuesday last week in daytime, then watered 2 days later on Thursday evening, I have since watered on Sunday. It will be 7 days tomorrow since first applied and there are a lot of black patches which look burnt, there is also a lot of powder sitting on top of various weeds and patches on the grass, I would have thought this would have washed away with watering, but no luck after 2 waters, I will also be watering again tonight. 

I'm scared to let my young daughter play in the garden as not sure if safe, it says keep kids and pets off until watered in, but as I say I think I hae applied miles too much, hence why burnt and not going away! 

Any advice appreciated.

Dan

15/07/2013 at 18:37

It says any blackening of the grass is temporary.

http://www.lovethegarden.com/system/files/user-files/product/label/01-13/eg-complete-label.pdf

Does any of info in the link, ease your mind ?!?!

15/07/2013 at 19:23

Hi Dan,

Sounds like its working a treat. The black patches will remain for a while (perhaps a month) then gradually give way to new grass. I did my front lawn about 2 months ago and it's now looking much better. Keep watering and be patient. You'll be amazed how quickly the existing grass grows when it kicks in. Very lush and green.

It's one of those things that looks much worse before it looks better. 

Gareth.

15/07/2013 at 20:27