Forum home Problem solving
This Forum will close on Wednesday 27 March, 2024. Please refer to the announcement on the Discussions page for further detail.

Honeysuckle leaves turning yellow and falling off

Hi,

I am a novice gardening and my first attempt to grow a climber to cover a fence, a lovely honeysuckle, keeps suffering and I'm worried it will die.

It seems to be older leaves and new ones on the older branches near the middle of the plant, they are turning yellow, getting black spots and then falling off.  I've tried to spay with Fungus Fighter (after removing most of the yellow leaves) but its still progressing.  I've attached some pictures - I'm not sure if it could be something else, or if I need to do more to help it survive! I've uploaded some pictures to show the damage on the leaves. This only started when it started growing again this spring but is quite wide spread so I'm worried if it's not fixed soon it could ruin the whole plant.  These leaves actually don't look the worst, as I removed the affected ones last week and re sprayed - this is the new damage since then!

Any advice would be very welcome if you can tell what it is or what I should do!

Thanks,
Kate

• DovefromaboveDovefromabove Posts: 88,139

I agree with Pansyface - keep the soil around the roots moist.image

Gardening in Central Norfolk on improved gritty moraine over chalk ... free-draining.

• Ah ok, thank you! I've also just realised I think a cat has been weeing or spraying on the bottom half off the plant. Came home today after full day of sunshine and it's wet and lots of dead leaves! Will protect it from that, and water well! Thanks!!
  • BELBEL Posts: 49

I tend to cover the bottom of the stem with large pieces of broken pot, just as you would with a clematis.  They do not too much direct sun.  Same thing happened to me last year but sheltering the lower stem seems to have helped a lot with extra watering as well.