London (change)
Today 15°C / 11°C
Tomorrow 15°C / 13°C
11 messages
05/05/2014 at 13:12
http://s3.gardenersworld.com/uploads/images/original/44862.jpg?width=350

Been watching this just now for about ten minutes on a 2" leaf amidst a clump of campanula.  Never seen one before.  It spent all it's time scurrying around in circles on the leaf occasionally stopping and rubbing it's legs down the long black shell thing.  It didn't seem to be doing anything to the leaf, although maybe this behaviour means it WAS doing something.  The lump is unusual to me.  Does anybody know what it is and if it's good news or bad news?  Have to admit, its movements were a bit creepy!  I couldn't tell if it was in distress (due to the lump?) or if it normally would move in a disorientated way.

05/05/2014 at 13:20

It looks to me like one of the Ichneumon wasps but I'm not an expert - hopefully someone else will know more than me - and no idea what the lump is - Ichneumons are parasitic wasps, is this one being parasitised in it's turn?  

You could try posting a pic on here http://www.wildaboutbritain.co.uk/forums/ and seeing what they come up with.

05/05/2014 at 13:45

Hi Dove.  I've just had another look and it seems to be struggling with only one wing.  It has a whole left wing but the one on the right seems only to have a little bit left.  Then again, maybe it's meant to be like that.  But if it isn't, my guess is that it's staggering due to the loss of the wing and maybe the loss of the wing has caused it to be unable to live as normal.  The bump certainly looks a bit parasitic or infected to me but then again maybe it is just like this.  One thing is for sure, I couldn't bear to watch it any longer in case its movements might be its last! I'll do a web search again.

05/05/2014 at 13:49

Isn't nature fascinating -  I get more pleasure watching the goings on in my new wildlife pond that from watching most of the stuff on the tv. 

05/05/2014 at 15:07