London (change)
Today 15°C / 12°C
Tomorrow 18°C / 12°C
8 messages
16/07/2014 at 15:00

Hi everyone,

So sorry for sounding like a complete novice... We're new gardeners and we're now fighting with weeds and have read that mulch is great for surprising weeds. 

We're not massive fans of the look of bark chips, and have read that compost is also a good form of mulch - does this include the shop-bought (e.g. John Innes) types?

Another issue we have is that our border is mixed with a few azaleas which are in a line across the border - if I use compost I will need to use a different type around these - is there a certain way or distance that I should put the different compost around the azaleas as I don't want to kill them with the limey compost! Or can the other plants have the special compost too?

Thanks in advance!
Jenny

16/07/2014 at 15:00

Surprising! Meant suppressing

Edd
16/07/2014 at 15:04

I think leaf mold would be your best bet.

16/07/2014 at 15:28

Hi JennyMc - yes Azaleas do tend to prefer more acid based soil, but generally unless your soil is very alkaline, they are fairly tolerant, you do not say how mature they are, but if they are of a reasonable age and have survived so far - so good.  I would not really say that shop bought compost is a mulch, Edd's suggestion is great if you can find some.  You can buy ericacious feed in liquid or granular form to give them boost.

As to the weeding, no quick fix I'm afraid, unless you have very invasive or difficult weeds, but that's a whole new topic !

Louise

16/07/2014 at 15:32
Hi Jenny, most flowering plants wont mind a more acidic compost, im going by the ones in my garden who have to like it or lump it! you will need to use an acidic compost for azelias etc, i use this as a mulch, it works fine, but is an expensive way of doing it. Jus make sure you dont go all the way up to the stems of the plants as they dont like it, and give everything a good soak before you mulch