London (change)
Today °C / °C
Tomorrow °C / °C
14 messages
24/04/2013 at 22:11

Hi This is my first post so please bear with me. I have recently moved house and now have the pleasure of owning a large polytunnel already set up with beds and filtration system. Outside of this are two beds with some sort of wood and wire structure and plants growing up them.

You may have guessed I am a total beginner and do not have a clue where to start. Both areas are quite overgrown with nettles as well. Do I dig it all out and start from scratch or do I try and salvage what is there? If I did everything out is it best to weed kill due to the nettles and does this affect future growing in the beds if I have used weedkiller??

I hope someone can give me advice on where to start

Thanks

24/04/2013 at 22:17

Hi Louise and welcome 

We love trying to help - can you take some photos and post them on here to give us a few more clues?  If you save the photos to your pc then click on the picture of a tree that appears in the toolbar when you start to write a reply, it's fairly simple - even I can do it - but if it all goes wrong someone on here will help 

24/04/2013 at 22:18

Thanks dovefromabove I will see what I can do much appreciated

24/04/2013 at 22:27
You will find that nettles are probably all connected. They spread by runners, thick yellow roots running under the surface. When you start to dig them out you will be able to trace these runners and remive the worst of the problem. It may take a year to remove the weed problem though. I would suggest trying potatoes in the outside beds as these can out compete a lot of weeds. Inside the tunnel I would go for glyphosate then dig over the soil.
24/04/2013 at 22:41

These are pictures of inside of the polytunnel and the beds outside hope this helps.

Thanks

http://s4.gardenersworld.com/uploads/images/original/22548.jpg?width=271&height=350&mode=max