Forum home Problem solving
This Forum will close on Wednesday 27 March, 2024. Please refer to the announcement on the Discussions page for further detail.

levelling the garden

Hi I am new and a complete novice to gardening. But our rear garden is approximately 18ft by 10ft the first half is flat and was laid with a patio by the building firm but the back half goes up by about 2ft in the back left corner and about 6" in the right corner. We would like to bring it down so it is all level and a usable garden but we need to support next doors garden in that back corner of 2ft and also the fencing already erected. My husband is wanting to create a raised bed using sleepers but I am worried it may not be strong enough. At the moment the fence is really strong and not been affected by this awful weather so it is in very good condition.

• Tropical SamTropical Sam Posts: 1,488

You can use concrete paving slabs cemented in to stop the earth and fence touching. The sleepers can be used to front the terrace with rubble behind that for drainage.

• Mrs-TMrs-T Posts: 10
    Thanks Blairs, looking at work that can be done with sleepers I can see they are pretty supportive and we would possibly back fill the sleepers around the posts with cement to give extra support.

We dug around one this evening and you hit the concrete about 7" down but need to go about another 7" to be level with the garden.

Not sure I am making any sense at all tbh. The fence is properly done with planks of wood all the way down rather than panels you can buy and didn't even move in these winds we had recently so I think that is my main worry of going down to below the current cement level and even with cementing in a sleeper and then adding extra cement around the post before back filling the area wouldn't be enough.
  • Mark 499Mark 499 Posts: 380

It depends how deep the concrete is around the posts, some people put stone & rubble into the hole & only concrete the top half, any chance of a photo?