Forum home Problem solving
This Forum will close on Wednesday 27 March, 2024. Please refer to the announcement on the Discussions page for further detail.

Lifting Dahlias

Hi, I need to clear my flower beds ready for spring planting.  Do I have to wait for a frost to kill of the dahlia foliage or can I just cut them back and lift them?

• Dave MorganDave Morgan Posts: 3,123

You can do either tayberry. I find it's better to leave them in till after the foliage has been blackened by frost, the tubers are bigger if they are left that bit longer.

• Hostafan1Hostafan1 Posts: 34,888

I'm with Dave. If you have the heart, if you cut all the flowers off, I believe all the energy associated with their production goes to swelling the tubers.

Devon.
  • I've been lifting dahlias for a few years now and pretty much cut them down when I feel ready to clear and store.  No real logic.  Is it better to cut all flowers off and leave them for a while then?  I've stopped deadheading now as I know it won't be long before I lift but I'm wondering if that's a bad idea as they'll start putting energy into forming seed heads...?

I have also contemplated leaving them in the ground for a year and seeing what happens....I would of course cover with a good mulch and some straw.

Rob, we used to live in Hants with very sandy soil and not much rain. I didn't lift my dahlias and only lost one after a nasty winter.

We now live in North Devon on heavy clay and I'd not dream of leaving them in the ground. I have to lift all 200 odd plants and store them in the garage over the winter.

I'd advise you to carry on dead-heading as you rightly point out they'll waste energy forming seeds.

Devon.
  • I took all the flowers off last week and now I'm going to lift, dry and store them.  I'll and see what flowers I get next year. 

• Busy-LizzieBusy-Lizzie Posts: 24,023

If they haven't been blackened by frost then leave them upside down for a bit before packing them for storing to let the sap run out.