London (change)
Today 23°C / 16°C
Tomorrow 26°C / 15°C
5 messages
07/05/2014 at 13:27

Hello Everyone, I'm new to this site and really enjoying reading all you extrememly useful tips and advice, so I know this this the best place to get advice ... I'm totally new to gardening so I hope I dont confuse you with my basic terminology .. I have heavy clay and last year I planted a few rhododendrons and azaleas and theyve grown lovely with no problems that I can see. As the garden was uneven, bluebell ridden with bindweed etc, we just did a quick fix by throwing down the membrane and adding the pea gravel and just planting thecouple of rhododendrons.   We had the house to decorate so a quick fix like this was the best option for us at that point. However, things are more settled now and I wanted to redo the garden properly, and therefore have been doing a lot of reading on my soil type and the plants Ive recently purchased.  All was going to plan, Ive levelled the garden, added compost and manure and had some lovely stones delivered just now to add some interest so it didnt look so flat and the membrane has been put back down.  My plan is to just slit the membrane and plant.  The pea gravel sits on top of membrane (entire garden). However, the chappy who delivered our stones has just informed us the we have 'limestone pea gravel' and althouh Im a beginner I know limestone is a no no with acid , loving plants.  Could you tell me, will it affect my plants as the garden is covered with membrane (the gravel wont sit directly on the plants) or am I doomed and have to buy different gravel.  Much much thanks in advance for your time and advice, Ness

07/05/2014 at 16:01