London (change)
Today 10°C / 10°C
Tomorrow 12°C / 11°C
1 to 20 of 30 messages
23/03/2014 at 14:06
Hi, I'm new to gardening.I have started my garden in containers for now, but I'm super excited! Yesterday there was a brief spell of hail and the night temperature dropped to 1C, can anyone please tell me if this will harm my seedlings? I covered then last night. Any feedback will be greatly appreciated
23/03/2014 at 14:09

Hi loony gardner  What have you sown?

23/03/2014 at 14:12
Hi
I sowed peppers, beet roots, aubergines, tomatoes and carrots....I've got seedlings from the beets, tomatoes and peppers, waiting on the others still. Do you think the seedlings will survive?
23/03/2014 at 14:14

Are they in your house, in a greenhouse or outside?

23/03/2014 at 14:22
Outside
23/03/2014 at 14:24

The beets and carrots  might be OK

23/03/2014 at 14:28

The good news is .....Beetroots and carrots will be fine 

The bad news is .... aubergines, peppers and tomatoes need warmth to germinate - are you sure they've germinated outside  - they need to be sown indoors on a warm windowsill or in a heated propagator, then potted on and kept warm and only planted out when all risk of a frost is over - even then  peppers and aubergines really need to be in a greenhouse and only some varieties of tomatoes will do well outside. 

So, I'm afraid you'll have to write them off, put it down to experience and start again, but not just yet .......... 

I'm not sowing my tomatoes until next month.........

23/03/2014 at 14:34
Awww....so should I start again with seeds in little yogurt pots on my window sill? Or should I wait until next month? The problem is, my Windows face east and west-no south facers. I don't have a propagator, should I get one?
Thanks for your helpful comments, dovefromabove and nutcutlet, otherwise I would have kept watering them and thinking why they don't grow!
Lyn
23/03/2014 at 14:41