London (change)
Today 15°C / 12°C
Tomorrow 18°C / 12°C
16 messages
23/04/2013 at 21:12

Hi, I'm a newbie. My husband and  I bought a large golden bamboo from Homebase after bartering with the person in charge over the price. They wanted £40 for it and had it displayed with patio furniture but it looked as though it was potbound and dying so we took pity on it and eventually got it for £10.  Having removed it from its tiny pot we soaked the rootball but it is still very tight. We wanted to keep it in a large pot if possible as we might be moving house next year and would like to take it with us. Can anyone tell me if it would be better to split the plant into two as the stems look fairly green but through not being looked after in store the leaves are very dry and look as though they are ready to drop off. All suggestion welcome. Thanks  

23/04/2013 at 21:39

I'd be inclined to keep it together til it recovers but I'm not a bamboo expert.

23/04/2013 at 22:34

I have two in my garden.One is planted out and is doing very well,it's been in for about eight years.The other i've had for about three years and is in a large pot.It's prone to drying out very quickly and the leaves curl and drop off.I give it a good long soak with the hose and it seems to recover.It too is quite pot bound but as the one planted out hasn't spread i reckon it's happy.

If i were you pat,i'd leave it as one plant and just make sure to water it often.

23/04/2013 at 23:32
Pat
Water and water and water for next few days.
Put into bigger pot too
Bamboos are easy to split.....you can saw in half, for example.....but I agree is best to keep it intact.
I grow phyllostachys aurea too but in a pot now. In the garden it attempted to take over in one growing season....it's roots travelled deep and wide popping up well outside its designated area.
Watering is the key though if in a pot
24/04/2013 at 08:00

I think any one is brave to plant a bamboo in the ground,

as they tend to spread so easily .