Forum home Problem solving
This Forum will close on Wednesday 27 March, 2024. Please refer to the announcement on the Discussions page for further detail.

Planting Advice

I would really appreciate some planting advice, but have to embark on a long explanation first! Bear with me, I'm a novice.

My garden also serves as the roof of a Grade 1 listed grotto (the Shell Grotto in Margate). It is largely laid to lawn, under which sit French drains. This was deemed by English Heritage to offer the best protection from water ingress for the Grotto which is cut from the chalk bedrock (the apex of its ceiling is only a few feet below ground level).

The garden is on a slope and there is little topsoil above the drainage; what there is is alkaline.

We have a flint wall running along one boundary and I would like to create a border along it. This area is in almost full shade and the soil is pretty heavy. It's very close to the Grotto, although not directly over it. What plants to use? Obviously nothing with invasive roots! And ideally I would like to introduce plants that assist with keeping the Grotto dry. A visitor yesterday suggested that irises are great for sucking up damp - would they suffer the shade?

Ideally, I'd love a bank of hydrangeas, or rhododendrons or anything that my other half considers to be 'old lady plants'. But the Grotto might take priority over my wistful longings for a cottage garden!

I'd be grateful for any suggestions. 

Sarah

• artjakartjak Posts: 4,167

Could you show us photos? especially the proximity of the flower bed to the grotto?

• Sarah43Sarah43 Posts: 4

I can't show you the proximity of the Grotto to the bed no...you can see one or the other but not both! However, here's my best attempt to explain...drainage going in and then turf being laid, first view looking downhill, second view uphill. Blue lines indicate line of bed; red lines are where the Grotto passages are underground.

And then is part of what is underground: