London (change)
Today 16°C / 13°C
Tomorrow 14°C / 8°C
17 messages
07/11/2013 at 16:23

So, I am a complete newbie when it comes to gardening so please be kind

We recently moved to a LOVELY house with a lovely garden. Unfortunatley a mixture of two big dogs and the terrible weather, the garden is.... Well... A lost cause.

We have children too, and they can't play outside because of the state the garden is in. My office window looks right out to the garden, so I have to close my blinds all day because it makes me sick to look at!

I just need some advice on where to start? The whole thing was grass when we moved in, but we are not opposed to having some gravel or something, but would definitely want some grass for the children to play on.

With it coming to winter now, I'm not sure wether I'm to leave it and wait till the weather is better or start now?? Also, as you can probably tell, our house is CONSTANTLY covered in mud from when the dogs come in. I wipe their paws as best I can, but I worry about them being out there... It's not good for them either.

Please be kind, and reserve judgement. It's not like I went out there and ruined it myself! Just needing some help to fix this god awful mess.

LM

http://s4.gardenersworld.com/uploads/images/original/33783.png?width=241&height=350&mode=max

http://s4.gardenersworld.com/uploads/images/original/33785.jpg?width=272&height=350&mode=max

http://s4.gardenersworld.com/uploads/images/original/33786.jpg?width=272&height=350&mode=max

http://s4.gardenersworld.com/uploads/images/original/33787.jpg?width=272&height=350&mode=max

07/11/2013 at 16:26

Also. the mess you see is from when the winds knocked the bins over :/

07/11/2013 at 16:42