London (change)
Today 18°C / 12°C
Tomorrow 18°C / 13°C
1 to 20 of 24 messages
14/06/2014 at 08:50

http://s4.gardenersworld.com/uploads/images/original/49307.jpg?width=276&height=350&mode=max

I have up to now lost 3-4 courgettes because they are going 'mushy' on the end, like this one.  It isn't isolated to one plant and all plants have healthy courgettes growing on them to.

Can anyone tell me why or what I'm doing wrong, is it because they've not been pollinated properly or because they've got wet???

Any advice gratefully received  

KEF
14/06/2014 at 08:57

OL if they hadn't been pollinated you wouldn't have a courgette. Sometimes the flowers don't drop off and start to rot, at that point I remove the flower before it rots the courgette and it would help if you put something under the courgette if the ground is wet and it is sitting on it.

I wouldn't throw that courgette away I'd cut rotten end off and eat the rest

14/06/2014 at 09:03
Im no expert, its been a few years since i grew courgettes, it cant be poor pollinatipn, or there wouldnt be a courgette, i would say this is most likely due to too much rain which has caused some sort of fungal problem. I would have a root under and around the plants- clear any debris, give them a good feed and hopefully it should get better after a couple of weeks. It might even be worth pinching out any small fruits to make sure any fungal nasties are minimised. Good luck
14/06/2014 at 09:08

I forgot to say, this is happening in the GH and the courgettes aren't resting on anything.  Silly me re the pollination.....the baby courgettes just seem to always appear though (I never was any good at biology!!) and I thought they then needed to be pollinated to grow properly 

KEF, too late to eat the rest, this was taken last night and I threw it away, it was tiny though, the photo makes it look bigger than it was so would only have been a mouthful 

14/06/2014 at 09:09