London (change)
Today 18°C / 15°C
Tomorrow 20°C / 15°C
13 messages
17/05/2012 at 14:06

Hi,

I am new to the gardening world and I have recently managed to get myself an alotment. I want to grow a Privet Hegdge from cuttings is this possible and how do I do this.

Any help is much appreciated

17/05/2012 at 14:24

Privet is one of the easiest plants to propagate.

You simply need to take a cutting, about a foot long (or even longer), and stick it in the ground, and away it should go.

Obviously you need suitable weather, warm and showery, like now.

17/05/2012 at 14:30

Thanks so much Gary - do I need to use rooting powder?

17/05/2012 at 14:47

I have found that even the clippings from my privet start taking root if they fall into nearby pots when I've been cutting the hedge.  They are obviously keen to grow.

17/05/2012 at 14:50

Thats great thanks for your help. Do you know how far appart I should space the clippings?

17/05/2012 at 22:38

I have not grown a hedge from scratch, but I do think privet looks best when it is dense. I keep mine very closely clipped and it always looks good, so I expect that the cuttings should be planted quite close.

I do find that most bushes will propogate in this manner, as per Gary's advice. Just stick them in the ground and stand back!  Much of my garden has been filled in this way.

18/05/2012 at 05:22
NewGardner1 wrote (see)

do I need to use rooting powder? ....how far apart I should space the clippings?

Some people do use rooting powder, and perhaps it does assist rooting, though it's not essential.

The spacing should be around 9 inches to a foot (20cm to 30cm). But you could put in cuttings twice as close as that (4 inches apart), so that if some cuttings don't take, you'll still get a decent hedge.

Lilyanne wrote (see)

... I do think privet looks best when it is dense....

That's true.