Forum home Problem solving
This Forum will close on Wednesday 27 March, 2024. Please refer to the announcement on the Discussions page for further detail.

Protecting plants from frost

Hi,

This may be a daft question but I'm quite new to gardening and have planted a lot of things for the first time e.g. sweet peas.  I'm worried about frosts which have been damaging to some of the new growth on my clematis plants in recent weeks so just wondered what needs protection.  I have planted up a lot of pots with fuscias, lobelias etc and also have dahlias and sweet peas in the ground so should I be covering them in fleece everytime there is a frost?

Many thanks for any advice!

• figratfigrat Posts: 1,619
    It has been unusually chilly recently. The most sensitive plants in your list will be the dahlias, fuchsias and lobelia. The sweet peas are more hardy. It's a pain, but you would be wise to cover them with fleece if frost is predicted. Not all years are like this though!
  • Abby2Abby2 Posts: 101

Thanks for your speedy reply!  I will head outside and get them covered up.  Would be very sad to lose any.  This is a tough year to start gardening!!

• WintersongWintersong Posts: 2,436

I would say as a general rule, to protect as much of what you have raised in doors or the greenhouse as you can, because all plants can suffer frost damage, especially at this lateness in the year, but the things you take the time and effort to grow and nurture are perhaps the hardest to lose. Most other things will recover in time image

• BookertooBookertoo Posts: 1,306