London (change)
Today 10°C / 10°C
Tomorrow 12°C / 10°C
11 messages
03/06/2014 at 22:23
Can anyone offer any advice for my newly planted honeysuckle - Graham Thomas - which has developed purple/black spots on its leaves. The base of the plant isn't too badly affected at present but the top half had wilted and the leaves curled up, it looked very sorry for itself. I cut back the woody stems and have found a very small amount of green life in these so I have my fingers crossed it will come back. The base of the plant seems to be healthy enough at the moment and the majority of the leaves here have not been affected, for the time being at least. I went to a garden centre today and was advised to try Rose Clear spray to help eradicate the spotting but as I am new to gardening Im worried that I'll be doing more harm than good. I'm really disappointed about my poor honeysuckle which was doing great until we had the spell of hot weather recently.
03/06/2014 at 22:30

Keep it well watered at the roots and mulch with some garden compost. It will be powdery Mildew causing the symptoms you describe, the only thing honeysuckle really suffer from. It will come back so don't worry.

03/06/2014 at 22:34

I would say it isnt Powdery Mildew. You would have white patches on the leaves.

The chap at the garden centre was right in suggesting Rose Clear as your honeysuckle has black spot, a disease that usually affects Roses.

Most Honeysuckle are quite vigorous so this doesnt tend to trouble them too much.

04/06/2014 at 07:08
Thanks guys, I shall go ahead with the rose clear and keep my fingers crossed that the honeysuckle perks up soon!
04/06/2014 at 07:17

I agree with Dave, honeysuckle leaves turn grey/black when succumbing to powdery mildew, before the fungus develops its powdery coat.  

It affects honeysuckle that has been weakened by drought - honeysuckle, being a plant of damp woodlands likes it's feet to be cool and damp.