London (change)
Today 15°C / 13°C
Tomorrow 16°C / 8°C
10 messages
01/06/2014 at 09:56

I've been unable to source any seeds in GCs, but if I ordered some seeds online am I too late? The info I've seen seems to suggest so. I thought I might be able to find some plants at my local blooms but I have been totally unsuccessful, which is a shame because I'd have loved to have put some in at the allotment this month.

Another one for next years list methinks!

01/06/2014 at 10:15

Never grown it from seed but since you're not going to get a crop from it this year - or next, probably - I wouldn't have thought it too late.  But then I'm no expert.   No, sorry - I'm not No Expert, I'm just.....oh never mind.    More tea.

01/06/2014 at 10:28

Wait until the late autumn SweetPea and then ask around the allotment to see if anyone is dividing one of their crowns - offer them something in return and hopefully you'll get it for peanuts  

Plant it with lots of organic material, FYM etc, and don't pick anything from it next year (apart from removing any flowering stalks).  Water it well and keep mulching with FYM/compost etc and by spring 2016 you'll be picking your own rhubarb 

01/06/2014 at 10:34

I must admit I didn't know it was such a slow provider. If it does take so long, then I don't mind prioritising something else that will give results a little sooner, as the aim is to get as much in now as we can, so we don't feel we've wasted too much time this year.

01/06/2014 at 10:37

It really needs to build the crown up before you can use it - save a corner for it in the autumn - it'll need an area about 1m x 1m.

Have you planted any dwarf French beans yet?  They're quite quick to crop.  Pak Choi is another quick one.  You can so them both direct into the ground where they're going to grow.  

I'm amazed at how quickly my Pak Choi is growing this year in the warm dampness at the moment. 

01/06/2014 at 10:38