London (change)
Today 12°C / 10°C
Tomorrow 12°C / 6°C
16 messages
16/07/2014 at 17:12

Hello. Are there any rose experts on here?

I have a container rose (Special Child) that is showing signs of some sort of deficiency but I don't know which one.  The rose bush has been feed twice this year with Top Rose (in March and April) and has had some amazing blooms on it this year.  

Does anyone know what this is and if so, what do I need to do.

It's a very special rose to me and would welcome any help.  

Many thanks

Heather

http://s4.gardenersworld.com/uploads/images/original/52739.jpg?width=480&height=350&mode=max

http://s4.gardenersworld.com/uploads/images/original/52741.jpg?width=480&height=350&mode=max

Edd
16/07/2014 at 17:16

I don't think it is deficient in any thing i think it is under greenfly attack.

16/07/2014 at 17:16

Hi Heather, I'm no rose expert, but looks a lot like powdery mildew to me.

Edd
16/07/2014 at 17:27

Actually i think it is more likely to be spider mite damage

16/07/2014 at 17:30

I've just had a look for any pests, and other than a few ants and the occasional sawfly I see hanging around, I can't find anything else which surprises me. 

Edited to say that the rose was feed in March and July (not April). 

Edd
16/07/2014 at 17:46

You do have black spot so it could be the early symptoms of that.

16/07/2014 at 17:48

Some of my roses are in quite shady areas and some of them display the same symptoms.

16/07/2014 at 18:25

Oh . Is there anything I need to do to help minimise the spread.  Have heard that a milk/water solution can help?

Does Rose Clear work?? Is this safe for bees?

16/07/2014 at 20:10

..I would say that is suffering from mineral deficiency, especially magnesium and/or possibly rust disease..