London (change)
Today 9°C / 4°C
Tomorrow 10°C / 9°C
6 messages
31/03/2012 at 19:59

I have discovered in my compost in pots in greenhouse, a very small, bright green ball which has a white milky centre when squashed.  Today I discovered it in the bag of compost which I have used to repot my fuchias which incidentally are not doing well after being invaded by vine weevil.  Does anyone know what this is?

02/04/2012 at 20:13

Hi Pink Wellies, I read your posting with interest as I have never seen anything like this until today!! I opened up a new bag of peat free compost from homebase and found one of these strange 'things' in there, I was surprised to see it, as you say it was bright green and when I squashes it,  it spat out a white liguid. The upshot is that I cannot help you with what it is, but I have been gardening for many years and never seen anything like this, but what I do know is that it came with the bought compost from the shop so at least I can tell you that it is not something that you have been generating yourself in your greenhouse. I am going to dig around my books to see what it is, but it did look more lake plant material rather than some sort of bug!! If I find out more I will write again!! Best Wishes urszula

03/04/2012 at 11:21

Thanks Urszula.  I have got a feeling that I also bought my compost from Homebase.  I buy quite a bit from there and it is very possible that it came with mine also.  I may make an enquiry with them next time I am there to see if there has been any other comments to them.  After the vine weevil disaster with my beloved fuchias, I am relieved to find out that it is not something that I am generating myself.  Keep in touch if you discover further info.

Thanks Pink Wellies

03/04/2012 at 12:40

Hello Pink Wellies,