London (change)
Today 16°C / 13°C
Tomorrow 14°C / 8°C
5 messages
06/09/2012 at 20:15
I have bamboo (Phyllostachys Nigra), which is growing well (very healthy green lea ves) but its stems are very spindly so when it rains, it ends up laying prostrate on the border and onto the lawn. Ive ended up staking it to keep it upright. If I dont stake it, it just flops again. Why is it so spindly? Its in good light, which isnt full blazing sun all day, but does get direct sun on it for up to 3/4 hours a day (when sunny!). I water it well, and when I planted it (two years ago), I planted it in good soil with good supply of well rotted manure. Havent fed it since. Do stems thicken up over time?
06/09/2012 at 21:07
I've heard this variety is particularly prone to spindly stems. I'm not an expert on bamboo and I'm sure someone else will give better advice shortly, but apparently you should cut out any particularly weak and spindly stems as soon as they emerge, leaving the stronger ones to use the energy to get thicker. That's not to say I would recommend chopping loads of it down wholesale now though, it might shock the plant. Perhaps you could thin out a third of the weakest stems and keep on top of any new spindly growth. Then next year, if the plant seems healthy and some stems are thickening, you might cut out a little more of the weak stems, and so on. I hope that makes sense. I also hope someone more knowledgeable comes along and says whether this advice is good!
06/09/2012 at 21:37