Start a new thread

1 to 20 of 29 replies

Hello all. I am new to the Gardeners World website and to the forums so I hope that my question is in the right place. For the last couple of years I have planted seed mixes attempted to grow a small wildflower meadow in my wooden planter to attract bees and butterflies into the garden and each time after a month or two's growth the whole lot keeps getting dug up by squirrels and my attempts are completely ruined. I really want to make a success of it this year and wondered if there was anyway of keeping the squirrels from digging them up?. Would getting a peanut feeder in the garden give them something else to concentrate on and keep them off of my growing wildflower meadow?. Any help and advice would be gratefully received as i am desperate!.
Hostafan1

Hiya Stoney and welcome. 

there are "humane" traps which you can use. They catch them alive and then you , erm, do what you want with them. Relocate them to the countryside for example.

B3

Sprinkle holly leaves on you planter

BobTheGardener

Hostafan, strictly speaking it is illegal to release vermin (assuming grey squirrels) back into the wild after they have been trapped.  Kind of limits the choice of what to do with them! 

And also some one else will have a problem later

Advertisement

Thanks for the replies so far guys.
I bumped into somebody in my local homebase a few months ago who said that she caught them in humane traps and released them into her local park. But like BobTheGardener says, I have since found it to be illegal.

Will the bird feeder idea work do you think?.
Singing Gardener