London (change)
Today 15°C / 12°C
Tomorrow 18°C / 12°C
16 messages
09/03/2013 at 10:26

Hi, i have a Summer flowering evergreen Clematis, growing up a trellis on my fence(I think its a summer one but could be early autumn,as i have lost the instruction card and cant remember even the name of it.) i bought it as a very small plant last spring, so it has not flowered yet but has put on a lot of growth since,and has grown to the top of the trellis already.I would like to know when and how to prune it ,if at all.I am  a very novice gardener but am learning slowly through the kind help of all you experts on this forum,it has given me so much inspiration, so this is where i come when i have a problem and would be really grateful for any help.Have tried to upload a Pic of the plant but its not letting me do it at the moment,but will keep trying.Kind regards Elizabeth.

09/03/2013 at 10:46

I'm not a clematis expert, but I think I'm right in saying that evergreen clematis don't need regular pruning; only if they've outgrown their space do you need to tackle them.  If I'm wrong someone on here will tell us I'm sure 

09/03/2013 at 10:49

Hi, thats very helpful, thank you.

09/03/2013 at 10:54

http://s4.gardenersworld.com/uploads/images/original/19551.jpg?width=274&height=350&mode=max

Hi everyone,am finally able able  to upload pic of my evergreen clematis,

09/03/2013 at 11:27

I don't recognise that. Looks more like a honeysuckle to me.

09/03/2013 at 11:37
Possibly clematis cartmanii or one of its cultivars?
09/03/2013 at 11:47

No that's not cartmanii They have fern-like leaves.

Your plant does look as if it could do with a feed - yellowing leaves.

It's not armandii either as that had glaucous leaves.

09/03/2013 at 12:05