London (change)
Today 19°C / 14°C
Tomorrow 21°C / 16°C
1 to 20 of 28 messages
22/08/2013 at 10:45

I have been growing tomatoes successfully for about 30 years both in the greenhouse and outdoors, always directly in the ground rather than in pots or grow-bags. I never take much notice of which variety I buy and have always obtained really tasty fruit. Sometimes I buy plants and sometimes I grow from seed. 

I recently moved house and now only have a tiny greenhouse frame thing which only has room for a single grow-bag, so this year I planted three garden-centre plants in a grow-bag and another three outside in pots of 50% compost 50% earth. Again I can’t remember the variety, but I have just picked the first fruit and find that they are thick skinned and tasteless.

They have been well fed with Tomorite and watered throughout – grow-bags seem to need watering twice daily in the hot weather. 

Any ideas please?

22/08/2013 at 10:51

In my opinion it is all down to variety, because home-grown tomatoes usually beat supermarket tomatoes hands down.

22/08/2013 at 12:47

I thought it was something weird about this year. I grew my usual varieties and they are thick skinned with nothing like the usual flavour. But I live in France.

22/08/2013 at 13:11