London (change)
Today 17°C / 6°C
Tomorrow 13°C / 4°C
1 to 20 of 46 messages
02/06/2013 at 10:09

Hello, 

Its my first time growing tomatoes on my own and was wondering if these where ok? i would normally go to my grandad but he is no longer with us..

so is there anything I should be doing with them right now or?? 

Thanks for your help..

KEF
02/06/2013 at 10:16

Hi Jessica, we haven't got the picture.

02/06/2013 at 21:03

http://s4.gardenersworld.com/uploads/images/original/24639.jpg?width=360&height=350&mode=max

Ooops I thought I posted it Haha sorry! 

KEF
02/06/2013 at 21:58

Jessica to be very honest they are so tiny for this time of year and I'm sorry but I don't think they'll catch up. I grew mine from seed and now they are knee high in buckets in the greenhouse.

Don't despair, nip to garden centre, they might still have some on sale, buy some and nurture those. Next year have another go, ask on here if you need guidance, all will be happy to help.

Keep trying. All the best.

04/06/2013 at 09:44

Could I ask, when are you meant to start to grown them? As Im sure I planted them late! 

thanks 

04/06/2013 at 10:04

Have to say this -  when you do sow again next year, fill them cups up to the top with compost. They don't look happy and look like they're lacking in nutrients, you have a higher chance of encountering problems. Tip. keep potting on, this encourages them to grow faster.

I start mine off in March.

04/06/2013 at 19:42

Thanks for that tip!

iv put them in bigger pots, so I'm hoping they will grow.. 

04/06/2013 at 19:51

I start mine off in February, in a heated propagator in the greenhouse. 

04/06/2013 at 22:48

I started mine around 10th April and have potted on twice, just put them in the ground in a greenhouse and some along a south facing wall. They're just under 2 foot tall, but are thick stemmed with yellow flowers that have just appeared.