London (change)
Today 19°C / 10°C
Tomorrow 19°C / 13°C
12 messages
17/04/2013 at 21:21

Good Evening,

I am currently studying design with the Open University and could do with some help please. A keen gardener myself I am interested to look at solutions for watering the garden. I would really appreciate it if people could respond to the questions below to help me with my project.

Q1: How would you describe the size of your garden?

a)    Small              b) Medium                 c) Large

Q2: How do you store rainwater/recycled water in your garden? Please indicate which of the following statements apply:

a)    “I only use water from a tap”

b)    “I collect rainwater in a water butt”

c)    “I recycle grey water”*

d)    Other, please specify

*For example waste water from the bathroom/kitchen that is relatively clean

Q3: How do you water your garden? Please mark all of the below methods that apply:

a)    Hosepipe (using an inside/outside tap)

b)    Hosepipe and sprinkler (using an inside/outside tap)

c)    Hosepipe Irrigation system (using an inside/outside tap)

d)    Hosepipe and electric pump (using an inside/outside tap)

e)    Hosepipe and solar powered pump (using water butt rain water)

f)     Watering can (filled using an inside/outside tap)

g)    Watering can (filled from a water butt containing rain water)

h)   Other, please specify

Q4: If some of the time you water your garden with rainwater what factors make you revert back to tap water?

Q5: If I was designing a product to water your garden what would the three most important considerations be. Please mark those that are applicable below:

a)    Time: “I need to water as quickly as possible, I don’t have the time to continuously keep filling the watering can”

b)    Sustainability: “ I want to ensure that where possible I conserve water”

c)    Efficiency: I want to make sure my plants receive adequate water”

d)    Weight: “I don’t like carrying the watering can up and down”