London (change)
Today 19°C / 10°C
Tomorrow 18°C / 10°C
1 to 20 of 21 messages
06/06/2013 at 20:33

Evening 

I'm new to gardening and have been given loads off advice and tips but the one thing that's causing a bit of conflict is should I water in the morning or evening? also does it really matter as long as they get water? 

Thank you

06/06/2013 at 20:35

Watering can be done any time of the day as long as the sun isnt on the leaves, as this will 'scorch' them.

I'd say Evening is a good time to water in general, or in the morning if you don't want those pesky slugs and snails eating all of your plants!

06/06/2013 at 20:36

If at all possible I like to water early in the morning before things warm up.  I find that if I water in the evenings the coldness and wetness, coupled with the darkness, attracts those marauding slugs and snails to the plants I've watered.  If I water very early the water soaks into the ground before the sun can dry it, but the slugs and snails are tucked away fast asleep during the day. 

However, sometimes plants need watering when they need watering, so they get done in the evening - it that happens I try to do a slug patrol with a torch later in the evening 

And do try to keep water off the leaves, particularly on a sunny day.

06/06/2013 at 20:40

I water evenings, as mornings are not possible. If this helps.

06/06/2013 at 20:47

In theory watering in the evening means less evaporation so the plants benefit more if it's a hot dry spell like most of us are having. However- as everyone says- it has to fit in with your own life too so it's whatever suits you best!

As Dove says- keeping water off leaves if it's sunny is more important than when you water.

06/06/2013 at 21:00

Thank you. I water mine in the evening as mornings I don't have time. 

06/06/2013 at 21:39

Mattbeer, I read recently that the scorching theory doesn't hold water (no pun intended, ok a bit)

06/06/2013 at 23:08