Forum home Problem solving
This Forum will close on Wednesday 27 March, 2024. Please refer to the announcement on the Discussions page for further detail.

what can I put in compost

Please help- I have never used a composter before and so am not sure what I can put in it. I think that I need to separate very green stuff with cardboard or similar to stop it going slimy.

Is it ok to put pruning from fuschia, roses, clematis?

I'm sure it's ok to put bits I cut back from perennials.

Some pelargoniums I tries to overwinter died and had whitish dust on them, can these be included?

What about weeds from cracks in paving including grass?

Finally what about moss growing on the top of pots and down the side of the house?

• In the compost you can put any greens and tea bags,coffee,weeds(after drowning in bucket of water)any green stuff,grass,straw,hay,sticks (must be chopped up) anything really cardboard,newspaper.do not put sawdust or fresh chopped bark in as it needs to be in a separate bin for about a year before you use ,leaves collected in autumn should be put in separate pile or bag (kept damp for a year) the thing to avoid is cooked food or meat  as this image

• Hi Bev,  Rather than separate, you want to mix things up well.  Ideally, about 80% dry stuff to 20% soft green matter.  Turn the whole lot regularly and in about 3 months you will have some good stuff!  Any of the things you mention are fine, but avoid perennial weed roots (eg dandelion) and don't add cooked food (attracts rats.)

A trowel in the hand is worth a thousand lost under a bush.
  • figratfigrat Posts: 1,619